DIY · life

Father’s Day Recap

I get really excited around the holidays because I like to surprise the ones I love with a little something special from the heart.  Father’s Day is no exception.  I love dear M with all my heart and I like to express that by surprising him with something thoughtful.

I recently became aware of this fabulous place right here in Lexington, Renegade Art Glass Studio!  I contacted Karla, the owner, to set up a glass “play date” to fuse glass several weeks ago with one of my girlfriends.

Karla was informative and fun!  She encouraged our artistic sides and made the project easy.  She thoroughly explained how the “fusion” process works, the different types of glass, and showed us the many projects you can make.  She demonstrated how to cut the glass and then let us do it ourselves.  Once that was done it was all about laying it out and being creative.  I enjoyed it so much that I decided I would come back and make M a serving tray for father’s day since he loves the kitchen so much! (How lucky am I?!)

I went back the week before father’s day and made this beauty:

photo

 

The picture above is before the “cooking and slumping”.  I don’t have a picture of the finished product as I forgot to take a picture in all of my excitement of gifting it, but it is more beautiful that I imagined.  I will be sure to upload a pic of it later tonight.  In the mean time go check out Renegade Art on Facebook or their website!

2 thoughts on “Father’s Day Recap

Leave a Reply

